05.11.15

Hey everyone!

You may have seen my YouTube video on my October favourites (link) but these are my favourites in pictures so they can be seen up close a little better.

Beauty Products:

1. Nivea Daily Essentials Express Hydration Primer

I have been using the Nivea Aftershave Balm for sensitive skin as a primer for ages but I have found that even this isn’t sensitive enough for my skin in the winter. It seems that as soon as the weather turns my skin panics and then breaks out and goes sensitive and dry and I just found that the aftershave balm was irritating it further. So I decided to go back to this primer, which I have used in the past. It is amazing for my skin at this time of year and has amazing staying power. I have been so impressed with how it has lasted as I am at uni for 9 hours most days and my makeup doesn’t budge and it has even made my makeup stay through training after uni, which is no mean feat.

2. Herbal Essences Hello Hydration Deep Nourishing Intensive Mask
  Herbal Essences hair masks have appeared in my monthly favourites relatively frequently because I just cannot get over how amazing they are. I have long, relatively thick hair that I change the colour of every few months and these masks just make the world of difference to my hair. I use an intensive mask once a week usually but it can be less frequently during the summer and more frequently during the winter. I have tried many other hair masks but I haven’t found one better than this and usually they are more expensive. I’ve included this one in my favourites as I am trying a new scent and I think it might be my new favourite. Previously I would always get the honey and apricot one but I had the shampoo and conditioner in the coconut flavour so I decided to try the matching hair mask and I am so glad I did.

3. Bluesky Gel Nail Polish

I am such a lazy girl and cannot be bothered with painting my nails constantly and I also hate having chipped nail varnish. I found regular nail varnish just wasn’t tough enough for me and so I was pretty excited when I got my own gel nail kit to use at home for Christmas. I was a bit wary starting out but now I never use regular nail polish on its own. This stuff is amazing for staying power and I was working in a pub over the summer so I was constantly in and out of a glass washer and the gel nails just did not budge and they also saved my nails from damage. These two colours have been my favourites this month and they are a deep navy and an asphalt grey. I love darker colours at this time of year and these two have been an amazing addition to my gel nail polish collection.

4. Avon Little Black Dress Perfume
 This perfume is one that I have had in my collection for years and I am always going back to it. I get so many compliments when I wear it and it is such amazing value. There are two reasons I am including it in my favourites this month; firstly is that it is the only perfume I have worn this month after switching from Summer to Autumn, and secondly that this is a special edition bottle. The usual bottle isn’t unattractive by any means but this one is beautiful. It has clean lines, it isn’t overly fancy and I just love it. It’s also a smaller size so its really convenient for me to pop into my handbag. I adore this scent for the Autumn/Winter time and I find it’s less of a floral scent, which is something I prefer for summer but less so when the weather gets cooler. It’s also such good value.

Makeup Products:

1. Miss Sporty So Clear Anti-Spot Concealer

I decided a while to expand my makeup collection as I had been using the same mascara, eyeliner, concealer, etc. for years. For many of the new products I tried I realised why I buy the same products time and time again; because they work best for me, but this concealer was a brilliant surprise. It has a more solid consistency that other concealers that I have used but I like that because it gives me heavier coverage. Also this actually does reduce my spots and redness, so after years of concealer making my spots worse and worse until I have to leave them uncovered and wait ’til they go away, I have finally found a concealer I can wear that simultaneously combats my spots. The only thing is that I’ve bought other Miss Sporty concealers before and they shades differ so much, even though they say they are the same shade (I but the lightest – 01 light). This one is a particularly pale version of their lightest shade and so I use it alongside another concealer to cover up dark circles and highlight down my nose. I mix it with a darker concealer to put it on any rogue spots that aren’t in the areas I would usually apply concealer so I think I’d get it a shade darker next time as well as this lighter shade.

2. Sleek i-Divine Palette in 578 Storm
   I have loved Sleek’s makeup range for a long time but I’d never really looked at their eyeshadow palettes until I received this one for my birthday. The colours are gorgeous and the products stays really well and is so pigmented so you really don’t need much. These colours are also all great for me as they really compliment and bring out my eyes. I don’t wear eyeshadow hugely often as I do find they can make me feel very conscious of the fact I am wearing eyeshadow, and that’s not something I want to be worrying about all day, but these really don’t. They are so easy to wear, blend beautifully and don’t need to be applied heavily at all.

3. 2true Matte Lipstick in Shade 6

 This lipstick is one that I have mentioned before and you have probably seen me wearing as it is one of my all-time favourites. I cannot get enough of this colour for Autumn and I have worn it quite a lot recently. This time of year my makeup always gets heavier and I go through a phase of wearing a dark lip. This one needs a couple of layers and some time to set but once it’s set it lasts for ages. I am terrible for smudging lipstick but I haven’t had any issues with this one that I can recall. The colour is perfect for this season and the formula is lovely and doesn’t dry your lips out like many lipsticks (particularly matte ones) do.

4. Collection Gothic Glam Lipstick in 2 Scorned

 Another dark lipstick for this month and this one is the darkest one I own. I love the deep purple, almost black colour and it really matches my hair currently. I can find it a little difficult to wear dark lipstick due to the fact I’m pale and they can really wash me out and make me look ill, but this one has enough of a warm tone behind it to not do that which is amazing. The formula is really creamy and again it is not a drying lipstick. It’s really pigmented and only needs one coat and also it’s perfect for Hallowe’en.

Fashion: 

1. Next Polo Neck Jumper

  I’m not entirely sure if this is a thin jumper or a thick top, but either way I love it. It is super soft, the sleeves are long enough, it isn’t itchy at all and it is so warm. I hate being cold and the weather has really turned for us recently, but I wasn’t ready to live in my thick jumpers and jeans just yet so this has been amazing for layering under dresses and has really allowed me to layer up my outfits a lot more. This particular one is from Next and I am so tempted to buy more in other colours as I just love it so much. It’s a really versatile piece that can be worn as part of a layering ensemble or on its own, and we all love things that are versatile.

2. Truffle Patent Brogues

I bought these shoes not that long ago and I have been wearing them almost daily. They are cute, a little different, practical, comfortable, and go with everything. I have wanted some flat brogues for a while now but I’ve always felt like they have been too masculine or not very interesting, and then I found these on Amazon. I love the buckle on them as I think it just adds a slight edge to the shoe without going over the top and I also love that they are patent as I think it makes them more feminine. They are just the kind of thing I love to wear and I can see me wearing these to death pretty quickly!

3. Vintage Locket
 Another gorgeous present I received for my birthday. A heart-shaped locket is something I have wanted for such a long time, but I have never found one that I really loved. This one is just the right size and is in such good condition, as it is a vintage one and often you find they have broken hinges and/or they don’t close properly. I have worn this a lot recently when I haven’t been wearing high-necked clothing and again it’s just something that goes with everything and it is so pretty.

Other Things:

1. MacBook Pro

 I have been saying to myself that I don’t need a new laptop for so long, even though mine was 8 years old and really struggled with connecting to the internet among other things, but now I have finally gotten a new one I am so pleased with it. I saved up all summer to be able to afford the one I wanted and I am so glad I did. I now don’t leave the house without it and it has made my life at university so much easier, as well as editing on the go!

2. Handmade Laptop Case
   The case I had for my previous laptop was a little too big for my new laptop so I decided to make one as I couldn’t find one that I liked enough to want to pay the money for it. It’s the perfect size to hold my laptop and to also fit nicely into my handbag. It is an envelope-style case with padded lining so I know the laptop is safe and protected. It is also reversible so it has this dusty rose print fabric on the outside but it can be turned inside-out to have the white fabric with coloured spots if I fancy a change.

That was a pretty long list but I hope you liked my favourites from last month!

YouTube Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7R-y1nlJ9gk

Love xx

Twitter: @laurel_lizabeth
Instagram: @laurel_elizabethh_
LookBook: lookbook.nu/laurelelizabeth
YouTube: youtube.com/channel/UCf7Gb-zOxmdcfVweLGADaYQ
Feels: feels.com/laurelelizabeth

Leave a Reply

