11.02.16

Hey everyone!

It’s Valentine’s Day on Sunday and so I have put together a makeup look that’s perfect for the day. It’s got gold on the lids with pink and purple tones in the shadow too to add that element of Valentine’s Day. I’ve gone for a nude lip to make it a suitable look for daytime as the eyes are pretty sparkly, but you could add on a bold berry coloured lipstick with purple tones to tie in with the eyeshadow. If you want to see me put the makeup on then I’ve got a video on my YouTube channel so you can check that out and I’ll leave a link to it below. So here’s the finished look and keep reading if you want to see how to do it and the products I used:

 

The Base:

Products:

  • Simple Kind to Skin Protecting Light Moisturiser
  • Nivea Sensitive Post Shave Balm

I started off by moisturising my skin to hydrate it and then I used the post shave balm as my primer because it is amazing at making my makeup stick. I wait until the primer is tacky before applying my makeup to make sure it doesn’t all just slide straight off my face.

The Face:

Products:

  • Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder – Shade 003 Peach Glow
  • Miss Sporty SoClear Anti-Spot Coverstick – Shade 001 Light
  • Natural Collection Coverstick – Shade Fair
  • EcoTools Concealer Brush
  • EcoTools Foundation Brush
  • ModelsOwn Powder Brush

I started by applying the Miss Sporty concealer using the EcoTools Concealer Brush to apply and blend this in to cover the red patches I currently have on and around my nose and also covering the dark circles under my eyes. I then used the Natural Collection concealer and applied it around the centre of my face where I get redness and blended it in using the EcoTools Foundation Brush. I patted in the pressed powder using the powder brush on my forehead and wherever I won’t be applying contour or highlight.

Contour and Highlight:

Products:

  • Sleek Highlighting Palette – Shade Precious Metals
  • Collection Bronze Glow Shimmering Bronzer – Shade Medium
  • Seventeen Define & Conquer Contour Kit – Shade Fair
  • Revolution Vivid Baked Highlighter – Shade Peach Lights
  • EcoTools Angled Brush
  • Unknown Powder Brush
  • EcoTools Eyeshadow Brush
  • Superdrug Powder Brush

I began by using the angled brush to apply the darker shade in the contour kit under my cheekbones and then to the sides of my nose to narrow it a little using the eyeshadow brush. I blended these in using the ModelsOwn Powder brush and then darkened the contour slightly at the edges of my face using the bronzer and the Unknown Powder Brush. I also applied this along the underside of my jaw and a little on my temples to give me a little more warmth. I used the shade Platinum from the Sleek Palette on my cheekbones, just above my contour, and blended it in using my finger. I then set that cream highlight using the baked highlighter applied using the Superdrug brush. I then applied the same product above the arches of my brows and down the centre of my nose and chin.

Eyeshadow:

Products:

  • Sleek i-Divine Palette – Storm 578
  • Urban Decay Naked Palette
  • ModelsOwn Flat Shadow Brush
  • Superdrug Pro:11 Eyeshadow Brush
  • Superdrug Pro:13 Eyeshadow Brush

 

I began by using the shade Perfect Storm and the Pro:13 brush to apply this gorgeous pinky shade in my crease and blend it out to just above the crease as I’m going to be darkening this shade later and I still want to be able to see it after applying a purple shade on top.

 

 

 

I patted this light golden shade all over my lids using the Pro:11 brushed blended a little with the pink shade in the crease. They combine beautifully to make a burnt orange colour and it brightens up the look and adds a different colour dimension so it doesn’t feel like an overload of pink and purple shades.

 

Naked Palette – Hustle
I used the shade Hustle from the Naked Palette to darken the crease a little but I kept it thinner and less far in than the pink shade. I used the Pro:13 again to apply and blend this colour and just add some definition to my eyes.

Sleek Palette – Snow Storm

I applied the shade Snow Storm to the inner corners of my eyes using the ModelsOwn Flat Shadow brush. This opens up the eyes and makes you look more awake and is definitely an essential in my makeup routine and this colour is my absolute favourite. I also applied this just on my brow bone under the arch of my brows and lightly dusted the excess on the tip of my nose and cupids bow to make my nose look narrower and enhance my lips.

Brows:

Products:

  • Revolution Redemption Palette – Iconic 1
  • EcoTools Angled Liner Brush
  • EcoTools Brow and Lash Tool
  • Natural Collection Lashcare Mascara – Shade Clear

I brushed my brows out and into place using the bristle brush on the Lash and Brow Tool. Annoying they were curling a lot at the time and wouldn’t really brush into place properly; it was just one of those days where my brows insisted on being unruly!

Revolution Palette – Unnamed Brown
I then filled them in using the chocolate brown colour from the Revolution Palette and the angled liner brush. I don’t fill them in very heavily because I have pretty thick brows anyway. I then set them into place using the clear mascara to make them stay put (and try and uncurl them a little).

Lashes and Liner:

Products:

  • Natural Collection Liquid Eye Lines Eyeliner
  • NYC Big & Bold 24hr Mascara – Shade Extra Black
  • NYC Big & Bold Volume by the Lash Mascara – Shade Extra Black
  • No7 Lash Curlers

I applied my liquid eyeliner into a relatively thin line and flick and then waited for it to dry before slightly darkening the outer part of my crease using the shade Hustle from the Naked Palette again. I also touched up the Snow Storm highlight on the inner corners of my eyes. I also curled my lashes using the No7 curlers and then applied the Volume by the Lash mascara with just one coat on both the top and bottom lashes and then two coats of the 24hr mascara.

Lips:

Products:

  • Vaseline Lip Therapy
  • Rimmel Lasting Finish by Kate Lipstick – Shade 038

I first applied the lip salve to moisturise my lips and prepare them for the lipstick and stop them from getting creased and uneven when the lipstick is applied.

Rimmel Lipstick – 038
After waiting for the lip salve to sink in a little I applied this amazing nude lipstick and it’s just perfect. It doesn’t wear much at all and it just enhances my natural lips.

The Finished Look:

So this is the finished look and I’m so pleased with how it turned out. I think the pink and purple make it perfect for Valentine’s Day but the gold added in stops it from being overpowering and adds a sunset effect which is beautiful.

I hope you liked this look!

YouTube Video: https://youtu.be/MwsFQ2GvcTs

Love xx

Twitter: @laurel_lizabeth
Instagram: @laurel_elizabethh_
LookBook: lookbook.nu/laurelelizabeth
YouTube: youtube.com/channel/UCf7Gb-zOxmdcfVweLGADaYQ
Feels: feels.com/laurelelizabeth

Leave a Reply

